Making the Switch & Why Blog?

After blogging on Fanbox for a couple of months, I am now diving head first into Word Press waters.  If you are a past follower hopefully you make the transition with me.  If not new eyes will follow sooner or later-hopefully it’s more than one set of eyes.  (Cyclopes, I’m sorry for the discrimination.)

Many people blog with false hopes of gaining tens to hundreds of thousands of readers/subscribers.  I HATE the word unrealistic, but very few will accomplish even 100 readers.  So when people ask me why I blog I think of four reasons:

  1. I use blogging as a tool to work on my written communication skills.  Regrettably, I was never one to pay much attention in English class growing up.  I was the kid picking my nose and shooting spitballs at various targets.  By the time I started to care about English I was well into college-go ahead and poke fun of me and/or correct me when I make an error!
  2. Blogging about topics that interest me, or events I’ve personally attended, etc, etc, help me learn and remember more.  I also like to stir up some controversy to get the pot brewing.  NOT EVERYTHING I POST IS NECESARILY MY BELIEF!
  3. Tons of things run through my head.  Some clever, some quite stupid, I use blogging to further explore them.
  4. I will use it as a journal when I go on trips, in the future I want to be able to reflect.

For those who have or have not thought about creating a blog I would highly encourage it.  It will open your mind, or perhaps give you a fresh perspective on various life topics.  Do not let what others think about you or your blogs affect you.  If you just be you, and are proud to be you, your personal growth is unlimited!

What do you think of the article?

