Goal Setters vs Goal Getters

Are you a goal setter or a goal getter?

I find many people set goals only to never see them accomplished.  Here are a few steps to get your goal instead of just setting a goal.

1) Attach a purpose.  Why do you want to reach a specific goal(s)?  What would it mean to you, to your family?  I have many people involved in AdvoCare (network marketing) who say they want a nice “plan b” income like I have.  The question that needs be answered is; why!?  You can go work a second, third or fourth job to make more money.  It is not the money that they actually want in their life.  It is what that money can do for them.  It could bring their spouse home from work to take care of the kids.  It could make you more available to your family because you no longer have to work those overtime hours on the weekend.  Maybe you want to take your kids to Disneyland.  Or you simply want to give them things you never had.  Attach a purpose to any goal you have and write it at the top of your goal sheet.   It keeps you going when the times get tough, when that goal seems so far away, when nothing is going right.

2) Define baby steps.  Most of us have B.A.Gs,  (Big Audacious Goals) and that’s awesome.  I encourage this!  But those goals are so big, they may not be reached tomorrow or even two years from now.  Most B.A.G setters fail to set baby steps to reach this B.A.G.  A simple example:  If I were a body builder and I signed up for my first show with the intentions of winning it for the grand prize trip to Italy, I would devise a plan to get myself ready.  I wouldn’t set it and forget it, that’d be a wish not a goal.  I would figure out what I would need to weigh and look-like.  I would find out which workout regimen I would partake in.  Find the foods which will benefit me most.  Beginning right away I would implement my plan.  I would go to the gym daily.  I would recover my body properly and give my body the nutrients needed.  Day in and day out I would be doing the right things to reach this goal.  If I set this B.A.G. and did nothing, had no plan, worked out here and there when I felt like it the show would quickly approach and, like most, my B.A.G. would never be reached.  What are your baby steps?  What is something small you can do today that will lead to accomplishing this goal.  For goals that are longer term, take a 40,000 foot view of it.  Make that plan, TAKE THOSE BABY STEPS!!!

3) Post your goals and purpose.  Your goals should be written out and in a place that you see them daily.  This is something I regret not doing a long time ago, but instead just started at the beginning of this year.  I have always written them down, but never posted them where I would see them daily. I didn’t think it was important because I always knew my goals and never forgot them.  But that is besides the point.  Obviously you will not forget a goal that you are planning to reach.  But now that I post my goals up on the middle of my mirror, I always see them.  They are staring back at me.  It reinforces what I am going to do.  If at the end of the day I did not take action on my baby steps to reach those goals, I can feel my goals tell me I’m fired.  No matter what I tell myself, no matter my excuse, in my gut I know I didn’t move towards accomplishment.

I urge you to now write your goals along with your purpose, create a plan to reach longer term goals, and definitely post them where you can see them more than once per day.  Put them in the middle of your mirror, in  a spot that when you put your contacts in you have to physically move to see around  them when you put your contacts in.  If you do not do this you are just a goal setter, I dare you to become a goal getter!

What things have you done that have worked to carry out goals?  What things haven’t worked?

Like, agree, disagree, comment, or just hit the back button. 🙂

What do you think of the article?

